Ready–for–service designs for metallurgical industry

  • TRAVELING FIELD PUMP
    The traveling field MHD-pump is designed for pumping liquid metals such as liquid magnesium and its alloys, sodium, potassium and other metals with similar properties. It is capable of generating head pressures up to
    Read
  • MHD–PUMP PUSH–PULL
    The magnetohydrodynamic pump transfers liquid metal under the action of electromagnetic forces generated specifically in the metal, and therefore it needs no moving parts, does not mix the metal with bottom sediments, and pumps
    Read
  • Submersible MHD-pump for liquid magnesium
    The submersible MHD-pump is designed for pumping liquid metals such as liquid magnesium and its alloys, sodium, potassium and other metals with similar properties. The pump develops head pressures up to 2 atm and
    Read

MHD–stirrer for aluminum or aluminum alloy ingot continuous casting







Unlike conventional casting, continuous casting in the presence of MHD-stirring

  1. improves the crystalline structure;
  2. distributes uniformly impurities and alloy additives;
  3. improves the surface quality of ingots.

The MHD–stirrer of our design has some advantages over the existing stirrers:

  1. It ensures both horizontal and vertical stirring of metal and individual control over the intensity of these stirring modes. The shape of the crystalline front and the crystalline structure size can be controlled by this stirrer device as well.
  2. The stirrer is a watertight device, and its body withstands the ingress of liquid aluminum in emergency situations.
  3. The characteristics of the MHD-stirrer are superior to those of similar devices.

The MHD–stirrers of our design have been produced for the pilot-scale production of the All-Russian aluminum-magnesium Institute (St.Petersburg, Russia), where they have been successfully used since 1994, as well as for Kamesk-Uralsk metallurgical works (Russia), the Hydrodynamic Research Center (Rossendorf, Germany), and the CIDAUT Foundation (Valladolid, Spain). The stirrers are also suited for use in continuous casting at the United Company RUSAL.
The stirrer is an easy-to-control device, and its design is protected by the RF Patent.

High-pressure MHD-pump

The high pressure MHD–pump designed at the Institute in late 1980s is intended for generating pressure of 1000—2000 atmospheres in liquid metals. Due to its low-inertia, the pump can be used in time-controlled high pressure systems, such as, for instance, hydraulic cylinders in the rollers of the mill fabricating thin sheets from steel, aluminum and other metals. The pump is also suited for pressure generation in hydrostats used in the manufacture of elements from composites and powders under high pressure.

In early 1990s, such works were performed together with Mashinostroitel Perm plant, but due to the problems of perestroika they were terminated. The pilot models of these pumps that develop pressure (head) ranging from 100 to 1100 atmospheres have been manufactured at the Institute. The design of this pump is protected by the RF patent.

Today we are ready to improve (whether there are customers and adequate financial support) the pump design and to produce pilot models at our Institute as well as to perform laboratory and field tests at the production facilities of the customer in order to manufacture a device that conforms to customer expectations.

Готовые решения для металлургической промышленности

  • НАСОС БЕГУЩЕГО ПОЛЯ
    МГД-насос бегущего поля, предназначенный для перекачивания жидких металлов (таких как жидкий магний и его сплавы, натрий, калий и подобные им металлы). Насос создает напор до 0.5 атмосферы и развивает максимальный расход до 7 тон
    Читать
  • МГД–НАСОС ПУШ–ПУЛ
    Магнитогидродинамический насос перекачивает металл при помощи специально создаваемых в жидком металле электромагнитных сил, поэтому не имеет подвижных частей, не вызывает перемешивания всего объема тигля и может перекачивать металл более чистый. Применение МГД насоса для
    Читать
  • Погружной МГД-насос для перекачивания жидкого магния
    МГД-насос погружного типа, служит для перекачивания жидких металлов (таких как жидкий магний и его сплавы, натрий, калий и подобные им металлы). Насос создает напор до 2 атмосфер и развивает максимальный расход до 7 тон
    Читать

МГД–ПЕРЕМЕШИВАТЕЛЬ для непрерывного литья  слитков из алюминия и его сплавов








В отличии от традиционного литья непрерывное литье с МГД–перемешиванием:

  1. улучшает кристаллическую структуру;
  2. равномерно распределяет примеси и лигирующие добавки;
  3. повышает качество поверхности слитка.

Разработанный нами МГД–перемешиватель в отличии от уже имеющихся:

  1. осуществляет перемешивание металла в горизонтальной и вертикальной плоскостях с возможностью раздельного регулирования интенсивности этих движений. Это позволяет управлять формой фронта кристаллизации и размером кристаллической структуры;
  2. перемешиватель влагозащищен и выдерживает попадание на корпус жидкого алюминия в аварийной ситуации;
  3. перемешиватель по своим характеристикам превосходит существующие аналоги.

МГД–перемешиватели нашей конструкции были изготовлены для  опытного производства Всероссийского алюминиево-магниевого института (ВАМИ, Санкт–Петербург, Россия), где они успешно работают с 1994 года, а так же для Каменск-Уральского металлургического завода (КУМЗ, Россия), для Отдела магнитной гидродинамики Исследовательского центра (Россендорф, Германия), для фирмы Сидаут (Вальядолит, Испания). МГД–перемешиватели могут использоваться при непрерывном литье на алюминиевых заводах РУСАЛа

Перемешиватель прост в  управлении, на его конструкцию имеется патент Российской федерации.

МГД–Насос высокого давления

В Институте в конце 80-х годов разрабатывался МГД-насос высокого давления, для создания напора в жидких металлах 1000—2000 атмосфер. Насос, обладающий малой инерцией предназначался использоваться в устройствах, где необходимо было создавать регулируемое во времени высокое давление. Такими устройствами могли бы являться гидроцилиндры для управляемого поджатия валков прокатного стана производящего тонкие листы из стали, алюминия и других металлов. Насос мог бы применяться для создания давления в гидростатах при производстве деталей давлением из композитов или порошков.

В начале девяностых годов такие работы велись совместно с Пермским заводом ПЗХО, но в последующем из за сложностей в период перестройки они были остановлены.

В Институте были изготовлены лабораторные модели этих насосов, которые развивали на галлиевом сплаве давления от сотен до 1100 атмосфер. На его конструкцию имеется патент Российской федерации.

В настоящий момент мы готовы при наличии заказчика и соответствующего финансирования произвести работы по доработке насоса и на основе производственных мастерских института изготовить опытные рабочие образцы, провести лабораторные и производственные испытания на предприятии заказчика с целью адаптации насоса к существующей технологии.